Registrations

 

Summer 2015 - 2016

AV Shield final - 6 February 2016

Congratulations to our men's 40 plus team which once again made it through to the AV Shield finals held at Albert Park. The 8 Waverley members were up against far larger teams but still managed a fantastic 3rd place. All of the athletes achieved at least 1 season best on the day, with a total of 14 season PB's by the team.

Our women's 40 plus team, with only limited numbers, finished a gallant third in the white zone to miss out on the finals for the first time.

Results - Victorian relay championships: 28 Nov 2015

Congratulations to the bronze medallists in the 4 x 1500m men's 40 plus: Glenn Goodman, Stephen Paine, James Atkinson and Craig Sanford

Next events:

30 Nov 2015 (Mon) - Junior coaching Central Reserve aths track: younger athletes 4.30 - 5.30pm, older athletes 4.45 - 6.00pm
1 Dec 2015 (Tues) - senior training, location TBA - contact James for details
3 Dec 2015 (Thurs) - senior coaching 6.00 - 7.30pm. Central Reserve aths track.
6 Dec 2015 (Sun) - Northcote Gift: helpers needed. 
7 Dec 2015 (Mon)
 - Junior coaching Central Reserve aths track: younger athletes 4.30 - 5.30pm, older athletes 4.45 - 6.00pm
8 Dec 2015 (Tues) - senior training, location TBA - contact James for details
10 Dec 2015 (Thurs evening) - Round 6 summer track and field: Nunawading (Bill Sewart Aths track, cnr Burwood Hwy & Newhaven Rd Burwood) from 6.00pm. Events include: 200m, 800m, 3000m, 1500m walk (juniors), 3000m walk (seniors), 4x200 replay, hammer, shot, high jump, triple jump.

New members

Welcome to new junior members: Cassie, Josh, Phoebe, Nathan, Lakdinu and Ross. 
Andrew Baxter has kindly volunteered to be the junior team manager.

Summer shield results

Results can be found here.

Coaching

Coaching for Junior Athletes for (with a focus on Under 12s) will begin on Monday 7th September. Coaching will incorporate general sprints training and an introduction to hurdles, long jump, high jump, shotput and discus. Training sessions will run every Monday night from 4.30 to 5.30pm. Coach: Simone Albiston 0418 591 438 Email: salbiston@optusnet.com.au

Junior athletes who are interested in middle distance coaching are invited to join the Senior Training Squad on Thursday nights from 6pm to 7.30pm. There is a core group of athletes who train at this time who are very welcoming to new athletes. This session is aimed at secondary school athletes who are interested in training for 200m up to 3km. Ideally athletes should be capable of running 3km in training session as a starting point. Coach: James Atkinson waverley.jamesa@gmail.com

Registration for 2015-2016

Registrations for the period 1 April 2015 - 31 March 2016 are currently open at: https://members.athsvic.org.au/login. It is not necessary to fill in a separate Athletics Waverley form - see registration page for club registration information and possible discounts and rebates.

Summer track and field competition

Date Round no Venue Program Club helpers needed for
10 Oct (Sat) 1 Nunawading 2 Javelin
24 Oct (Sat) 2 Mt Evelyn 1 Shot put
31 Oct (Sat) 3 Casey 2 Relays
14 Nov (Sat) 4 Nunawading 1 Triple jump
22 Nov (Sun) 5 Doncaster 2 N/A
10 Dec (Thurs) 6 Nunawading 1 Shot put
19 Dec (Sat) 7 Nunawading 2 N/A
9 Jan (Sat) 8 Nunawading 1 High jump
16 Jan (Sat) 9 Albert Park 2 N/a
30 Jan (Sat) 10 Nunawading 1 Triple jump